New APFSP Officers and Board of Trustees Installed

Salt Lake City, UT — The Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice, Inc. held its 2018 Fall Board meeting in October in Salt Lake City.  Among items approved at the meeting was the opportunity for students enrolled in an accredited funeral service program to become a member of the Academy without paying the initial membership fee.  Students would then be able to start acquiring credits toward the CFSP designation.  They would begin paying the annual renewal fee after the first year and would not be able to certify as a CFSP until they received their funeral director’s license.  The Academy believes that professional development is a lifelong process and must be encouraged at the beginning of the students’ careers.

Newly elected Board Members and officers were also installed at this meeting.  Diana Duksa Kurz, CFSP, of Newington, CT, a past president of the Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice, installed the Officers and new Board members.  The officers serve in their position for a two-year term and Board members are elected to a six-year term. Jenni Foster Bryant, CFSP, of Maryville, TN, was installed as President for the 2019-2021 term.  Along with Ms. Bryant, the following officers were also installed: Zach Carnley, CFSP, of Burleson, TX, as Vice President; Cheryl V. Anderson, CFSP, of Albemarle, NC, as Treasurer; and Daniel Simone, CFSP of Highland Park, NJ, as Secretary.  John W. Evans, CFSP, of Norwalk, OH, will serve as Immediate Past President.

This summer the Academy membership elected three new Board of Trustees members who were also installed at this meeting.   R.  DeMale Bowden, Jr, CFSP, of Morgan City, LA; Lauren M. Budrow, CFSP, of Detroit, MI; and James T. Walden, CFSP, of Covington, GA, were elected to the Board and officially installed by Past President Kurz.  Ernest Adams, CFSP, Greeneville, SC, also serves on the nine member Academy Board.

John McQueen, CFSP, of St. Petersburg, FL, Donald O’Guinn, CFSP, of Clio, MI, and Lacy Robinson, CFSP, of Prospect, KY were recognized for their outstanding service and leadership of the Academy during their terms as Trustees and officers of the Academy.  They received a beautifully engraved glass plaque for their dedication and service.

Incorporated in 1976, the Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice has been awarding the highest professional designation in funeral service for over 40 years.  With almost 2,300 members worldwide, 1,700 of whom have achieved the designation of Certified Funeral Service Practitioner, the Academy offers a voluntary certification program for funeral service practitioners to accomplish educational, professional, and community oriented goals in an organized fashion, recognizing funeral directors who raise and improve the standards of funeral service.

For more information about the Certified Funeral Service Practice (CFSP) designation or membership in the Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice, please contact Patty S. Hutcheson, CFSP, Executive Director, at (866) 431-2377 or visit